

NZCS 2022 Annual General Meeting

Date: Tuesday 16 August 2022

Time: Opened 7:10 pm, Closed 8:22 pm

Venue: Horse & Trap, 3 Enfield Street, Mount Eden, Auckland

Chair: Nina Wells



Nina Wells Murray Milne NZCS Amber Wakefield Donny Duncan NZCS Mark Lapwood ACS Bridie MacInees Stephen Baker Michael Paletta Ignacio Gatti Paul Mockridge Nick Reed Ben Howard Vanessa Vandy Stephen Allison

John Ross Bayley Broome-Peake Angie Sanchez Nigel Burton Callum Thomas Andrew McGeorge Andrew Stroud

Minutes

1. Apologies

Aaron Morton NZCS, David Paul NZCS, Sebastian Cort, Mark Minors, John Toon NZCS, Victoria Evans, Drew Sturge, Leon Narbey NZCS, Marc Swadel, Ainsley Calderwood, Andrew McGeorge, Grant Baker, John Frederick Renata, Dennis Wagner, Lance McMinn.

2. Minutes the previous AGM

2.1. Motion: that the minutes of the 2021 AGM be confirmed as a true and accurate record. *Moved: Michael Paletta, Seconded: Mark Lapwood NZCS*

3. The President's report

- 3.1. President's report
- 3.2. Executive Officer's report

3.3. Professional Development Manager's report

Motion: that the Presidents report be adopted.

Moved: Michael Paletta, Seconded: Murray Milne NZCS

4. The Treasurer's report on the finances of the Society, and the Statement of Accounts

4.1. Annual Report and financial statements - copies provided

4.2. Motion: The Treasurer's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts be adopted *Moved: Andrew McGeorge, Seconded: Mark Lapwood NZCS*

5. Election of President, Vice President and Treasurer

5.1. Nominations received prior to AGM:

President – Aaron Morton NZCS Vice President – Nina Wells Treasurer – Murray Milne NZCS

No nominations were received from the floor.

5.2 Election of officers

President – Aaron Morton NZCS Moved: Unanimous Vice President – Nina Wells Moved: Unanimous Treasurer – Murray Milne NZCS Moved: Unanimous

Positions were declared as elected unopposed.

6. Election of Committee Members

6.1. We considered how large the committee shall be (rule 5.1.a) and how long each person will be a Committee Member ('the Term') apart from the President (see rule 9.1)Motion: that the management committee shall return to 14 this year and that the elected members of the management committee shall serve until the next AGM. *Carried by a unanimous show of hands.*

Alyssa Kath and Drew Sturge depart the committee and we thanked them for their service.

- 6.2. Call for committee nominations from the floor
 - Michael Paletta nominated John Ross
- 6.3. Elect Committee
 - Michael Paletta
 - Donny Duncan NZCS
 - Tory Evans
 - Mark Lapwood NZCS ACS
 - Marc Swadel
 - Mark Minors
 - Bayley Broome-Peake
 - Sebastian Cort
 - Ainsley Calderwood
 - Andrew McGeorge
 - Will Proser
 - John Ross

Carried by a unanimous show of hands.

7. Auditor

7.1. Motion: That no auditor be appointed for the current financial year. The Rules requires that this note be put before the AGM. We have not appointed auditors in past years, and external charted accountants have prepared the accounts and tax returns. *Moved: Stephen Baker, Seconded: Murray Milne NZCS*

8. General business

The meeting engaged in a wide-ranging informal discussion including topics of:

- Feedback on the want for more events and more masterclasses a real focus on providing more professional development opportunities.
- "Credit Builder" (like the ACS credit maker) Ideas discussed on additional ways we can support our GD program i.e. shooting music videos or commercials for their showreels.
- Scope to reach out to the regions more such as Queenstown, Nelson, Dunedin, Tauranga and so on, for both events and professional development opportunities.
- Feedback for an event/masterclass of the documentary DP and director relationship.
- Great to tap into the international DPs coming in but to also keep touch with our grassroots.

No decisions were made, but members were reminded of the importance of providing feedback to committee members about the direction of NZCS and issues such as the ones discussed.

Meeting closed 8:22 PM